MAN Asian Shortlist Announcement

6

January 9, 2013 by markstani

The MAN Asian Literary Prize jury has nominated five novels for this year’s shortlist:

BETWEEN CLAY AND DUST by Musharraf Ali Farooqi

NARCOPOLIS by Jeet Thayil

SILENT HOUSE by Orhan Pamuk

THE BRIEFCASE by Hiroki Kawakami

THE GARDEN OF EVENING MISTS by Tan Twan Eng

Thoughts? I’m a bit underwhelmed, to be honest. I’m pleased to see two of my original list of six make the cut – ‘Between Clay And Dust’ and ‘Narcopolis’. I’m happy enough with ‘The Briefcase’, and bored rigid by the inclusion of the other two. For me it’s more about what didn’t make it – my two clear favourites, ‘Northern Girls’ and ‘Thinner Than Skin’ for starters. And then there was Nayomi Munaweera’s fantastic, rich debut novel, ‘Island Of A Thousand Mirrors’. I’m glad they all got their chance to shine on the longlist. I just wish at least one of them had stuck around to brighten up what is for me, on the whole, a rather dull top five.

6 thoughts on “MAN Asian Shortlist Announcement

  1. Lisa Hill says:

    Well, this means I’ve only got two more to read, Narcopolis and The Garden of Evening Mists.
    I’ve got one, but not the other….

  2. markbooks says:

    I suppose this is the way things go with Prize lists. It seems like Narcopolis and Gardens have been around soooo long.. much as I liked Narco, I was hoping to hail something new – as it is, we may be celebrating a novel published in 1983!!!

    • Kimchi says:

      Mark, It’s a little bit unrelated (candidate for MAN Asian 2014?).

      I would like to suggest you something really new (unless you speak Qur’anic Arabic and dialectal Hirazi Arabic))

      – Abdo Khal: Throwing Sparks.

      A very special author from Saudi Arabia.
      Respect.

  3. markbooks says:

    Kimchi – funny you should mention it, I have noticed this book and am trying to get hold of one from the publisher. I’ll let you know…!

    • Sophia says:

      Hi Mark, it’s Sophia from Bloomsbury. The book’s not out until later this year but I do have a proof copy with your name on it.

  4. markbooks says:

    Thanks Sophia, I’ve e-mailed you (hopefully)…!

Leave a Reply

