One Inch Wonders #17: Memories Of My Melancholy Whores

Leave a comment

July 29, 2011 by markstani

This relatively short novel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (pub. Vintage) is, in my opinion, as good if not better than some of his more acclaimed earlier work. It’s a great, rich read. But really, the mind-blowing first paragraph says it all.

The year I turned ninety, I wanted to give myself the gift of a night of wild love with an adolescent virgin. I thought of Rosa Cabarcas, the owner of an illicit house who would inform her good clients when she had a new girl available.

Leave a Reply

