One Inch Wonders #1: Dirty Havana Trilogy

Leave a comment

June 13, 2011 by markstani

The first in a series of random paragraphs from my favourite books: Dirty Havana Trilogy by Pedro Juan Gutierrez (Faber & Faber, 2002). Get it here.

Mercedes was on the roof, looking down at the street. It was almost dark. I bought her a drink. Then I fixed her a plate of Spanish tortilla, bread, and cheese. I tried to talk to her, dance with her. An hour later, she’d drunk I don’t know how many glasses of rum, she’d eaten everything she wanted, and she was still as stubborn as a mule. She wouldn’t talk, dance, or let me touch her. Meanwhile, Grace got the Mexican hot and fucked him in my bed.

Leave a Reply

